Why you need an arson defense attorney.
Arson is the crime of intentionally setting fire to a building or property. The purpose may be to harm people in the building, people around the building, or destroy the building or property itself. Arson in Utah can be charged as either a felony or misdemeanor crime, and either will have severe repercussions if you are convicted.
What Constitutes Arson?
(1) A person is guilty of arson if, under the circumstances not amounting to aggravated arson, the person utilizing fire or explosives unlawfully and intentionally damages:
(a) any property with the intention of defrauding an insurer; or
(b) the property of another.
(2) A violation of Subsection (1)(a) is a second-degree felony.
(3) A violation of Subsection (1)(b) is:
(a) a second-degree felony if:
(i) the damage caused is or exceeds $5,000 in value; or
(ii) as a proximate result of the fire or explosion, any person not a participant in the offense suffers serious bodily injury as defined in Section 76-1-601;
(b) a third-degree felony if:
(i) the damage caused is or exceeds $1,500 but is less than $5,000 in value;
(ii) as a proximate result of the fire or explosion, any person not a participant in the offense suffers substantial bodily injury as defined in Section 76-1-601; or
(iii) the fire or explosion endangers human life;
(c) a class A misdemeanor, if the damage caused is or exceeds $500 but is less than $1,500 in value; and
(d) a class B misdemeanor if the damage caused is less than $500.
Full Service Law Firm
Contact Utah Attorneys today for professional representation in your family law, criminal defense or personal injury matter.